I don’t think it’s escaped anybody that today is World Book Day. I love you very the concept of books, getting a new book, sharing your favourite book. But, dressing up – no! And a World Book Day voucher to get a free book. 

I’m not one for wasting money on fancy dress costumes, or dress up days. So with the school setting a theme – picture books, what do you do. Bob was dressed as a jackdaw, black shies, blackish socks, black legging, black t-shirt and a piece of black fabric to resemble wings. Squidge had an old Cinderella costume. 


Now comes the choosing of their free book. Unfortunately the school in their wisdom frog-marched them to the local shops to exchange said voucher. Bob is too young so hopefully will get to choose with her (fingers crossed). Squidge asked for the Jacqueline Wilson book, but I’ve been informed they are all coming home with David Walliams book. I wonder how she’ll like that. 

