I thought I would share my recipe for scones. I made these today with Bob as she is off school with chicken pox and now getting bored.

So what do you need?

  • 225g of self raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 55g butter
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 150mls (ish) milk
  • Glass cherries
  1. So mix the flour and salt, then rub in the butter until it looks like breadcrumbs
  2. Add sugar and mix again
  3. Add a little milk and mix until it looks like dough, knead for a little while
  4. At this point you can add other things, in my case cherries and gently mix
  5. Turn out onto floured surface either roll out or just flatten with your hand
  6. Cut out circles and place on baking tray
  7. Use a milk or egg wash on top
  8. Bake in the oven at 220c for about 15 minutes
  9. Allow to cool and eat!

These didn’t use all the milk as it was getting to wet (still too hot to eat!).

 

