An interesting concept for a book! There are lots of authors in this book of short stories compiled by Dane Cobain.

Let me explain, first an author has found lots of other authors to write short stories. But here’s the twist, each author has to come up with a subject, a verb and an object. Sounds straight forward enough until these heading are mixed up and given to a different author to base their stories around.

To get the review out quickly, I’m reviewing each story one at a time and then just adding to the post (this will be removed when the last story is reviewed).

First up is Cornwall by James Torrance. For some reason I struggled to get into this story, not sure if it was the story, the content or style. But I finally read the story and it just clicked into place. Briefly; a man who has split from his girlfriend and tries to find peace, he meets up with friends in Cornwall for a week and follow what happens until he returns home.

Next we have Thickly… Settled (He Swallowed The World) by Alex Kimmell. Completely different, this was really weird, in a good way. When two people who have kept themselves to themselves meet by two words (thickly settled) which strangely connects them through their apartment floor. I’m struggling to say what happened, without giving the story away. Beautifully written and I wanted to keep reading to find out what happened.

If you want to find new authors to read, having an anthology (collection) in one book is a really good idea. Definitely recommend getting this book to anyone.

I signed up to receive this book to review, and have not been paid in any other way apart from the free book.

I’m going to keep reading the book and add to this review as I go along!

